I got my whole life to change the world and climb ladders…-Sugarland

It’s been a while since I picked up my Resolution for Women book which means it’s been a while since I’ve signed a resolution.  During this summer I have been doing a lot of reading, and one of my goals is to finish books I have started yet never finished including this book.  So tonight I picked it back up and read the next part called “My Best”: A resolution to devote myself completely to God’s priorities for my life.

The more I read into this resolution I had to stop and laugh because the whole time I could hear my mentors and friends yelling at me saying “see Bobbie Jo, you don’t have to spend so much time at school!”  It’s no secret that I have a hard time prioritizing my time, and most of my time is spent at school and if I’m not a school I’m at church, leaving very little time for myself.  I do from time to time go out with friends, see a movie and relax but when a weekend comes around and I choose not to go to school I wind up feeling guilty about not spending my time working at school.  The author to the readers to draw boxes about our commitments and how we divide our time below you will see what mine look like…

75%-of my time is spent at school

20%-of my time is spent at church

4%-of my time is spent catching up with family

1% or less-of my time is spend on myself

As you can see it’s very unbalanced, the sad thing is I’m not sure how to fix it.  It does scare me with me spending so much time locked in a classroom I’m missing out on other things in life, or I’ve missed prince charming because I’m so busy being Miss Miller, I forgot to be Bobbie Jo.  I pray with a change of employment this year and a actual team to work with I might not have to spend all my time at school, however that just means more time to hibernate in my apt.  So it seems like an evil trade off, so wouldn’t I just be better spending my time at school?   I know I can hear my friends screaming NO! So with the upcoming school year coming soon I promise to do my best to up hold this resolution, I will most likely need constant reminders to stay on track but I promise to make a full hearted attempt to keep this resolution.

My Best

I will seek to devote the best of myself, my time, and my talents to the primary roles the Lord has entrusted to me in this phase of my life.

Bobbie Jo 

Resolution number 5

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

