Let it Snow-Harry Connick jr

No one told me that when I moved to Lubbock 3 years ago that Lubbock comes with snow.  I love snow, my only complaint about the snow in Lubbock is it does come around enough and when it does it doesn’t stick around long enough.  Like I said I love the snow, there is something so pure and magical about it.  I walked outside (yes I know it’s 11 at night but I had to go see the snow) in the snow for a while it just seems so peaceful, there is now sound with the snow, and the blanket of white it leaves before anyone has had time to drive or walk in it, is such a beautiful sight. 

Lubbock has been bracing for this winter storm for the past few days so when todays finally arrived I just camped out and waited, well call it forced camping as I’m recovering from a bout of an upper respiratory   infection and the cough syrup the doctor put me on knocks me out, but still I just kept looking out the window and at the radar just waiting for it to arrive.  I was starting to think it wouldn’t happen, all that would fall all day was rain or sleet  and the weather reports kept pushing back the time for the snow, but finally at 11 this evening the rain turned to sleet then a mixture then finally to snow!  I got so excited that I jumped off the couch, and bundled up and went for a walk outside, and you couldn’t wipe the smile off my face, as I just wondered in the snowy nightfall. 

As I walked in the falling snow I got a slight twinge of sadness, as you might recall a few entries back I wrote about how I really thought this year would be the year I took “the one” , the elusive boy home for Christmas to meet my family and how this just wasn’t going to come true this year.  Maybe I’ve watched to many Hallmark Christmas movies (any time my tv is on, that is what is playing) so my be my head is a little full of love stories and snow, but I really thought this year was going to be the year.  For those of you who don’t know my 30th birthday is quickly approaching (March) and everyone knows that I figured I’d long be married by now with at least one baby, but with that not the case I’ve been secretly hoping that I would at least find my “true love” before that day comes.  Now I know I’ve still got time but like I said I really thought this year for Christmas I’d be bringing him home for the first time to meet the family.  As I walked through the falling snow tonight how I just longed for someone to hold my hand and walk with me and enjoy the sight with me that’s all, I don’t think that is too much to ask for.  I never figured myself to the old maid that never married by 30; I always figured I’d marry young, God’s funny sense of humor I guess on display. 

After I came inside and sat down to right this blog I was reminded of what I had wrote in that same blog I mentioned earlier, that instead of being sad that I still haven’t found my soul mate this year and I wasn’t going to take him home this Christmas to meet the family I was going to be happy of dreams that did come true like teaching kindergarten, and being thankful that after this summer my mom’s health has been restored, thankful that God place me in under the wings of wonderful Christian women to teach me and guide me (some time reprimand out of love when need).  Maybe God was preparing me this year for big plans for next year or maybe he is just trying to get me to enjoy what’s right in front of me right now, like the falling snow and to let him take care of the future, whatever it maybe he keeps showing me he knows what is best for me. So I will work on letting go my plans and the disappointment that comes when MY plans don’t work out and let HIS plans forge ahead. 

Trust God from the bottom of your heart;
    don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
    he’s the one who will keep you on track.

Proverbs 3:5-6 (MSG)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

