“Sometimes I don’t have the energy to prove everybody wrong and I try my best to be strong but you know it’s so hard…-Dixie Chicks

Imperfect progress, those were the words the last speaker at Awaken focused on. Imperfect progress, to be making progress but still making mistakes.  I have been constantly thinking about that ever since, then it hit me, that has been my whole school year to date.  If you have been reading my blog any who know that this year has been the hardest to date.  There have been days I’ve wanted to throw in the towel and call it quits, I’ve broke down and cried in the bathroom, or alone in my classroom, then there was the day I got so angry I flipped a table over in front of one of my dear friends/co-worker.  I have wanted to be a kinder teacher since the day I did my student teaching, and I wanted to be perfect at it.  One little problem, there is no such thing has a perfect teacher.  I watch one of my co-workers who was a first year last year and get so jealous at how good she is and I try to compete and compare myself.  No wonder I failed, I can’t compete with or compare myself to anyone, I am my own person, and my babies are totally different from her babies.  So each day gets a little easier, and we have finally hit a rhythm but we still make mistakes, I get impatient and they forget the rules but it’s still progress however imperfect it is.  So I know that next year will be easier and I know that this year will be full of mistakes to learn from but that is the story of life; life is full of imperfect progress.  

Don’t be in any rush to become a teacher, my friends. Teaching is highly responsible work. Teachers are held to the strictest standards. And none of us is perfectly qualified. We get it wrong nearly every time we open our mouths. If you could find someone whose speech was perfectly true, you’d have a perfect person, in perfect control of life.-James 3:2

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

