“Love’s always on time…”-Miranda Lambert

Tonight I sat down to read a chapter in my book (Praying for Your Future Husband) and the chapter was called “Praying for Patience” it should have been named ‘Bobbie Jo this chapter was written just for you’.  All I can say about this chapter is wow; it just put this whole waiting thing in to prospective.  It made a great point that “Love requires a lot of patience before, during and after the walk down the aisle, and that if it’s true love, as in God’s forever kind of love that you want to experience, and then patience is going to be one of the key ingredients in this recipe for bliss.” (Page 40) 

                It also hit home with something I too often struggle with, that “it is hard to be patient when you watch all your friends dating and getting married yet no one is pursing you” (page 44), but to NOT compromise my standards, and engage in destructive behavior but to be at peace and see this time as an opportunity for “for God to develop HIS patience in me”.  It also reminded me to continue to cast my prayers to God, and know that they have not fallen on deaf ears, nor is there anything wrong with them, he has heard them and is hard at work on them, and one day I will be “stunned” with the results.

At the of each chapter there are little discussion questions so I thought tonight I would respond to the discussion questions, feel free to leave your input if you would like.

1) Why is being patient so hard for us in today’s society?

                Because we live in an instant gratification society and if we don’t get what we want when we want it, we get upset. 

2) In what ways do you run ahead, trying to find your future husband, instead of waiting for God’s timing?

                I forget to enjoy this period time in my life, where I can pick up and do whatever I want (like travel to Houston of a week) and have no one else to worry about but just me.

3) God says love is patient.  How is patience an expression of love?

                I think that patient is an expression of love when you don’t get upset with someone who’s learning something or making mistakes, all which happen when you are in love.

4) Read Psalm 31:15. How does know that God holds your time in His hands help you? What do you think He would say to you about those times if you were sitting face to face right now?

                Knowing that he has it all planned out makes me kind of relax a little that I don’t have to stress (even though I often do) because I know his plans are all going to fall into place.  And if we were sitting face to face right now he would be telling me to relax and enjoy this time, that my husband is coming he and I just aren’t ready for each other right now.

5) Does writing a letter to your future husband appeal to you, why might I hesitate over the idea?

                It does kind of appeal to me but I’m not sure what to say, maybe something to think about.

6) In the chapter there is a poem called “Where Are You?” What line stood out to you the most?

Where are you?

Everyone around me is getting this question answered while I sit alone.

….How long must I wait?

7) What are some things that are the hardest for your future husband to be patient about, how can you pray for those struggles? 

                Temptation, I pray that he keeps is eyes, and heart focused on God.

8) What things can your friends pray for you concerning patience?

                That I continue to grow in this area, and accept this time period God has left me in and appreciate it.  Also that I don’t settle just for the sake of settling that I wait for the one God has made just for me and in the time he has appointed. 

 

We also have joy with our troubles, because we know that these troubles produce patience. And patience produces character, and character produces hope. And this hope will never disappoint us, because God has poured out his love to fill our hearts. He gave us his love through the Holy Spirit, whom God has given to us.-Romans 5: 3-5 (NCV)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

