“I will remember you, will you remember me?”-Sarah McLachlan

Till our lives meet up again….

I started this posting a few days ago on my best friends 30th birthday, it was intended to be a good-bye for now letter, but the more I thought about it the more I realized how many of my friends this applied to so I decided to scrap that posting and write this one instead.  To my friends that this applies to please know that this is not goodbye forever, just for now, I still love and care for you deeply but this is more me saying goodbye to what we once had to open and prepare my heart for what we will develop now.
To all my dear friends who have married and started your families,
I want you to know how much I love you and how blessed I am to call you my friend.  Many of you I met during our time at Howard Payne, Michelle we met almost 24 years ago when we were in Girl Scouts in the 1st grade. We have seen each other through ups and downs, family crisis, graduations, relationships that didn’t work out, new jobs, relocation’s.  The past few years I have seen each of you get engaged, stand/sit there as you married your own Prince Charming’s, for some of you I have anxiously waited word as you gave birth to your very first bundles of joy.  During this time I have been so excited for you as I watch you start on your new journey, a journey that until this summer did I realized had little room for me.
Now before you this this is a pity party it’s not meant to be, it’s meant to be a truthful view of self realization.  As we grow up, mature, get married and settled down our lives rightfully change, and when someone isn’t at the same point as you it’s hard for either of you to understand or relate to each other. This summer while visiting one of you this became abundantly clear to me.  It wasn’t by anything this person said, or did, I just took noticed of how different things where.  While I still only have myself to worry about all of you now have your husbands to be concerned about and most of you now have babies to contend with making it hard or close to impossible to drop everything you’re doing and hang out, and be on a constant go, go, go like we used to be able to do.   And I get it, and I can’t say this enough to you but I am so incredibly happy for you, but that doesn’t mean it’s not hard on me either, I mean you all have everything I have ever wanted.  And sometimes it hard to be around and be the odd girl out, with that said I still love getting to hang out with you when we can make it happen because we all know I do love baby time and getting to spoil them, and snuggle with them basically be an unofficial aunt.  I love getting to hang out with you and hear about how things are going and get some face to face time. But I now understand that things have changed.
So for now I say goodbye, I say goodbye to the life we shared as college friends, as little girls who grew up together, to the life that once was. However with that goodbye, I say hello to the new life we will share, whether it continues on now or picks up when I catch up with you I welcome this new stages of our lives and whatever path God places us on.

I will remember you
Will you remember me?
Don’t let your life pass you by
Weep not for the memories

Remember the good times that we had?
I let them slip away from us when things got bad
How clearly I first saw you smilin’ in the sun
Wanna feel your warmth upon me, I wanna be the one

I will remember you
Will you remember me?
Don’t let your life pass you by
Weep not for the memories

I’m so tired but I can’t sleep
Standin’ on the edge of something much too deep
It’s funny how we feel so much but we cannot say a word
We are screaming inside, but we can’t be heard

But I will remember you
Will you remember me?
Don’t let your life pass you by
Weep not for the memories

I’m so afraid to love you, but more afraid to loose
Clinging to a past that doesn’t let me choose
Once there was a darkness, deep and endless night
You gave me everything you had, oh you gave me light

And I will remember you
Will you remember me?
Don’t let your life pass you by
Weep not for the memories

And I will remember you
Will you remember me?
Don’t let your life pass you by
Weep not for the memories
Weep not for the memories

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens:…A right time to hold on and another to let go” -Ecclesiastes 3:1&7

Leave a Reply

